nazarenaluzzi

Jon Burgerman

In Uncategorized on November 17, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Jon Burgerman is an English artist and illustrator. He was born August 8, 1979, in Nottingham, UK. He studied art foundation in Bournville, Birmingham, England, and then Fine Art at Nottingham Trent University. Burgerman has worked on artwork for a race-track on Sony’s WipEout Pure Playstation Portable video game and the book, Hello Duudle, made with Danish artist Sune Ehlers. He has produced designs for exhibition at the Science Museum in London, the Game On exhibition (2006-2007), and an exhibition about the Large Hadron Collider. He has collaborated with Media Molecule on DLC for Little Big Planet. In 2009, Burgerman teamed up with USTWO, a London based company, to create an iPhone application called Inkstrumental.

His doodles have adorned t-shirts, snowboards, magazine covers, books, toys, computer games and airplane sick-bags. Working freelance enables him to snooze through most of the day; he is at heart a very lazy person. In an interview he said:

“Drawing has played a really important part in my life. As a kid, I vividly remember using my leftover food to make castles and draw weird creatures on my plate. I then outgrew my plate and moved on to bigger things: my house walls, to my parents dismay. After many canings and sore asses, during my teenage years, I used to draw in all of my borrowed and passed down school books, leaving a legacy of doodles and scribbling in it. I also used to draw comics that my younger sister would read and subsequently embarrass me by showing the drawings to my family, girlfriends and yes, total strangers. And now, at the tender age of 29, I still find myself drawing on my doors, walls and unimaginable places, mostly to pass time. I never could take drawing or doodling seriously because quite frankly people don’t take my drawings and doodles seriously, and I can’t blame them because I’m quite hopeless at it! But alas, I take pride in introducing someone who makes a living out of it: Jon Burgerman.”
WOW! his work is super sick. I love it. I love the cartoons and I just had to make one of his works my background. So colorful and fun. I love how all the characters and shapes are so closely related and connected, yet so different from each other at the same time.

Leave a Reply

